Tuesday, May 17 2022 | Time 12:55 Hrs(IST)

ICC reveals Men's T20 Player of Year nominees

ICC reveals Men's T20 Player of Year nominees

Dubai, Dec 29 (UNI) International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed Men's T20I Player of the Year nominees on Wednesday. Two wicketkeeper-batters and two all-rounders are shortlisted for the top honours.
England's Jos Buttler, Wanindu Hasaranga of Sri Lanka, Australia's Mitchell Marsh and Mohammad Rizwan from Pakistan have been shortlisted for their outstanding achievements in 2021.
Buttler scored 589 runs in 14 matches at 65.44 with one century and 13 dismissals to his name in the calendar year. Heading into T20 World Cup with a sublime form, the wicketkeeper-batter ended the tournament as England's leading run-scorer with 269 runs.
Sri Lanka's bowling all-rounder Hasaranga claimed 36 wickets in 20 matches at an average of 11.63 and scored 196 runs including one half-century.
Hasaranga ended the T20 World Cup 2021 campaign as the leading wicket-taker with 16 scalps and also played some handy knocks with the bat, including 71 against Ireland.
Australia's Marsh has 627 runs in 27 matches at 36.88; 8 wickets at 18.37 to his credit in the year 2021. The all-rounder played an unbeaten 77-run knock against New Zealand in the T20 World Cup final and was adjudged the Player of the Match.
With his scintillating performance, Marsh ensured Australia chase down the challenging 173 target in 18.5 overs, and crowned the winners of the T20 World Cup for the first time.
Pakistan's Rizwan has scored 1326 runs in 29 matches at an average of 73.66 with one century and has 24 dismissals to his name.
The wicketkeeper-batter played a vital role in Pakistan's run to the semifinals during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup, where he ended up as the third-highest run-scorer.

More News

Marsh, Thakur's sterling performances keep DC's hopes alive in IPL 2022

16 May 2022 | 11:43 PM

Mumbai, May 16 (UNI) Mitchell Marsh's 63 off 48 balls and Shardul Thakur's four wickets helped Delhi Capitals to stay alive in this year's IPL competition after they defeated Punjab Kings by 17 runs in the 64th match at DY Patil Stadium here on Monday.

see more..

Nikhat, Manisha and Parveen cruise into semis, of 12th IBA Women’s World Boxing Championships

16 May 2022 | 11:01 PM

New Delhi, May 16 (UNI) Indian boxers Nikhat Zareen, Manisha and Parveen entered the semi-finals of the 12th edition of the IBA Women’s World Boxing Championships in Istanbul on Monday.

see more..

CM Bommai announces Rs 5 lakh reward for Thomas Cup team member Lakshya Sen

16 May 2022 | 9:13 PM

Bengaluru, May 16 (UNI) Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai has announced Rs five lakh reward from the state government for Lakshya Sen, member of the Indian Badminton Team, which won the Thomas Cup, first for India.

see more..

Delhi lads, Gujarat eves win gold medals in Yuva National Volleyball competition in Sangli

16 May 2022 | 7:10 PM

Sangli, May 16 (UNI) Teams of Delhi and Gujarat won respective gold medals in men's and women's categories on concluding day of the three-day 24th Yuva National Volleyball competition held at Loknete Rajarambapu Kridanagari Police parade ground in Islampur town of the district on Monday.

see more..