Tuesday, May 17 2022 | Time 12:57 Hrs(IST)

ICC nominates Ashwin for Test Player of the Year

ICC nominates Ashwin for Test Player of the Year

Dubai, Dec 28 (UNI) The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday revealed the nominees for the ICC Men's Test Player of the Year awards. Indian ace spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has been nominated for his valuable contribution with bat and ball in the longest format of the game.
In 2021, Ashwin claimed 52 wickets in 8 matches at an average of 16.23 and scored 337 runs at 28.08 including a century.
With India trailing home series against England 1-0, Ashwin registered figures of 5/43 and 3/52 respectively in each innings to spin a web around the English batters.
He also scored a century in the second innings.
The ace spinner was adjudged the player of the series for his performance against the visitors. He scalped 32 wickets in four matches and scored 189 runs.
England skipper Joe Root, New Zealand's bowler Kyle Jamieson, Sri Lankan batsman Dimuth Karunaratne have also been nominated alongside Ashwin.
Root scored 1,708 runs in 15 matches with six centuries. He also became the third player in history to aggregate over 1,700 runs in Test cricket in a calendar year.
Jamieson has 27 wickets in 5 matches to his credit at 17.51 an average. He was the star performer in ICC World Test Championship final in Southampton.
The Kiwi pacer picked seven wickets and contributed a handy 21 runs in the first innings and was adjudged Player of the Match award.
Karunaratne has 902 runs in 7 matches at an average of 69.38 with 4 centuries to his credit in this calendar year.
A century in Johannesburg against South Africa, two centuries against Bangladesh in two matches in Pallekele, including a double ton, and a brilliant century against West Indies in Galle were some of the highlights from stunning year for Karunaratne.

More News

Marsh, Thakur's sterling performances keep DC's hopes alive in IPL 2022

16 May 2022 | 11:43 PM

Mumbai, May 16 (UNI) Mitchell Marsh's 63 off 48 balls and Shardul Thakur's four wickets helped Delhi Capitals to stay alive in this year's IPL competition after they defeated Punjab Kings by 17 runs in the 64th match at DY Patil Stadium here on Monday.

see more..

Nikhat, Manisha and Parveen cruise into semis, of 12th IBA Women’s World Boxing Championships

16 May 2022 | 11:01 PM

New Delhi, May 16 (UNI) Indian boxers Nikhat Zareen, Manisha and Parveen entered the semi-finals of the 12th edition of the IBA Women’s World Boxing Championships in Istanbul on Monday.

see more..

CM Bommai announces Rs 5 lakh reward for Thomas Cup team member Lakshya Sen

16 May 2022 | 9:13 PM

Bengaluru, May 16 (UNI) Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai has announced Rs five lakh reward from the state government for Lakshya Sen, member of the Indian Badminton Team, which won the Thomas Cup, first for India.

see more..

Delhi lads, Gujarat eves win gold medals in Yuva National Volleyball competition in Sangli

16 May 2022 | 7:10 PM

Sangli, May 16 (UNI) Teams of Delhi and Gujarat won respective gold medals in men's and women's categories on concluding day of the three-day 24th Yuva National Volleyball competition held at Loknete Rajarambapu Kridanagari Police parade ground in Islampur town of the district on Monday.

see more..