Tuesday, Feb 27 2024 | Time 21:39 Hrs(IST)

Death-over sensation Rinku earns maiden ODI callup, Gaikwad Test callup

Death-over sensation Rinku earns maiden ODI callup, Gaikwad Test callup

New Delhi, Nov 30 (UNI) Death-over sensation Rinku Singh received his maiden ODI callup with Team India for the South Africa tour, beginning December 10.
Rinku is playing in the ongoing T20I series against Australia, in which he already has established a name as the death-over sensation, which was evident in a thriller at Visakhapatnam when he clobbered an unaccounted six to guide India to victory off last-ball no-ball.
Rinku came into limelight in 2023 Indian Premier League, and made his maiden appearance for India in the T20 Asian Games this year, where they won the gold medal.
Rinku has scored 128 runs, at an average of 128 and strike-rate of 216.94, out of 8 T20I matches, and has been playing for Uttar Pradesh in domestic tournaments. He has scored 1,844 runs from 55 matches in List A cricket.
Ruturaj Gaikwad also earned his maiden callup in the Test series after his sensational T20I ton against Australia in the ongoing T20I series.
Tamil Nadu's Sai Sudarshan is the third player to receive his maiden callup in the India squad. He has given some exquisite performances in the IPL for Gujarat Titans.
Suryakumar Yadav will continue to lead Team India in the three-match T20I series against South Africa in the three-match T20I series against South Africa.
The star batsman is captaining Team India in the ongoing five-match T20I series against Australia in India. The T20I series starts from December 10.
Wicket-keeper batsman KL Rahul has been named captain for the ODI series after the T20I series, starting on December 17. Hardik Pandya has been left out in all formats of the game as he is recuperating from an ankle injury which he sustained in the ODI World Cup match against Bangladesh last month.
Yuzvendra Chahal, who was ignored by the national selectors for the World Cup, has been included for the ODI series. Shreyas Iyer and Jasprit Bumrah also make a comeback.
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been included in the Test series, but have been omitted after the BCCI accepted their request of giving a break in the white-ball series.
In addition to the senior squad, wicketkeeper batsman KS Bharat will lead India A team who will play three four-day matches in a shadow tour of South Africa.
Moreover, India will also play a three-day inter-squad match, the squad for which has a combination of both senior men's team players and India A players.
Mohammad Shami's availability is subject to fitness as he is currently undergoing medical treatment. Abhimanyu Easwaran’s availability also is subject to fitness too.
India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.
India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.
India’s squad for 3 ODIs: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.
India A squad for the 1st four-day match: Sai Sudharsan, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, Sarfaraz Khan, KS Bharat (C)(wk), Dhruv Jurel, Shardul Thakur, Pulkit Narang, Sourabh Kumar, Manav Suthar, Prasidh Krishna, Akash Deep, Vidhwath Kaverappa, Tushar Deshpande.
India Inter-squad three-day match: Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Sarfaraz Khan, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, KS Bharat (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Pulkit Narang, Harshit Rana, Shardul Thakur, Sourabh Kumar, Manav Suthar, Prasidh Krishna, Akash Deep, Vidhwath Kaverappa, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini.
India A squad for 3rd four-day match: Sai Sudharsan, Abhimanyu Easwaran*, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, KS Bharat (C)(wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Harshit Rana, Kuldeep Yadav, Manav Suthar, Akash Deep, Vidhwath Kaverappa, Navdeep Saini. UNI BDN SSP

More News
Abhinav Bindra, Neeraj Chopra, Anju Bobby George to be part of Bharat Sports Science Conclave

Abhinav Bindra, Neeraj Chopra, Anju Bobby George to be part of Bharat Sports Science Conclave

27 Feb 2024 | 7:57 PM

New Delhi, Feb 27 (UNI) A plethora of current and former athletes including Tokyo Olympic Gold Medallist Neeraj Chopra, India’s first individual Olympics gold medallist Abhinav Bindra, 2003 World Championship bronze medallist Anju Bobby George, 2012 Olympics Bronze Medallist Yogeshwar Dutt and Indian Cricketer Deepak Chahar and top sports science experts like South African Athlete Performance Specialist Wayne Lombard and President of Indian Rugby Football Union Rahul Bose are among the top names in the long list of experts deliberating on how to integrate sports science to enhance performance at the inaugural Bharat Sports Science Conclave to be held here on February 28.

see more..

KIUG: Pole vaulter Gowtham, javelin thrower Jyoti, runner Amandeep break Games records

27 Feb 2024 | 7:56 PM

Guwahati, Feb 27(UNI) Pole Vaulter M Gowtham of University of Madras, javelin thrower Jyoti of Chaudhary Devi Lal University and middle-distance runner Amandeep Kaur of Panjab University set new Games records to light up the last day of athletics action in the 4th Khelo India University Games 2023 Ashtalakshmi at the Indira Gandhi stadium here on Tuesday.

see more..

FC Goa to face Mumbai City FC in West Coast Derby

27 Feb 2024 | 7:50 PM

Mumbai, Feb 27 (UNI) The West Coast Derby returns in the Indian Super League (ISL) 2023-24 with FC Goa facing Mumbai City FC at the Mumbai Football Arena (MFA) on Wednesday.

see more..
All about playing good football at SAFF U16 Women's Championship  : Biby Thomas

All about playing good football at SAFF U16 Women's Championship : Biby Thomas

27 Feb 2024 | 6:51 PM

Kathmandu, Feb 27 (UNI) From the warmth of coastal Goa, the Indian U16 Women's team have landed in much chillier conditions here in Nepal.

see more..
India finish runners-up in Turkish Women's Cup

India finish runners-up in Turkish Women's Cup

27 Feb 2024 | 6:46 PM

Alanya (Turkey), Feb 27 (UNI) India’s valiant efforts to win their first-ever senior women’s title
outside the SAFF region got swept aside by an injury-time goal in their concluding round-robin Turkish Women’s Cup match against Kosovo at the Gold City Complex here on Tuesday.

see more..